Last Monday, I decided to break the habit of spending my day on the couch binge watching Breaking Bad and instead went apple picking with the family (me, husband and furry baby). I googled beforehand and asked around to know exactly where to go, but at the end what counted was finding a place that allowed dogs. I felt weird spending a day outside without Lola, the poor thing already spends enough time inside as it is!

I couldn’t be happier with our choice. Outhouse Orchards is an amazing place, everybody is nice and it’s not too far from the city (around 1 hour driving). It was my first time ever apple picking – we don’t do that in Brazil – and now I’m obsessed and can’t wait to go again. But for that, I need to use all the 64 apples we picked, so brace yourselves for lots and lots of apple recipes!!! :)

There’s something about picking a fruit straight from the tree that inspires me to eat more fruits and come up with healthy (or sometimes not so healthy) recipes. At Outland Orchards they had Cortland, McIntosh and Rhode Island Greenings apples. We brought home all kinds! :) They also had a pumpkin patch (from where we picked 3 pumpkins: one giant and two small), a corn maze (that we never had the time to check out) and a lovely market where they sold not only apples and pumpkins but also tomatoes, peppers, squash, local honey, maple syrup, jam and Halloween decorations! 

Lola had the time of her life and rolled on the grass until exhaustion. Surprisingly she didn’t eat any apples from the ground, even though we encouraged her to. (However, now that I’m home eating an apple, she won’t stop asking for a bite! Spoiled dog!!!)

Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 52Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 38Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 92Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 83Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 49Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 35Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 64Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 13Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 92Apple Picking at Outhouse Orchards - 17