Who’s ready for some chocolate love?  Now, let me be honest with you right from the beginning and tell you that this recipe is a little more elaborate than my usual recipes. But it is not difficult at all! There will be some dishes to be washed and a lot of waiting for layers to set in the freezer, so I recommend doing this on a weekend when you have time to focus on all things chocolate. At the end, it will all be worth it because this cake is truly a showstopper and so much better than anything you would get from the grocery store.

Truth be told, this was my first time making an ice cream cake ever! I do not consider myself a skilled baker, so I was definitely prepared for some serious crash and burn, lots of tears and possibly 2-3 cakes until perfection. Surprisingly enough, I got it perfect the first time! I even did a small run of victory around my apartment, feeling like the best baker in the world. (Yes, I am perfectly aware this feeling will last only until my next “had to make this 7 times until I got it right” project. But no need to rain on my parade right now!) My point is: if I can make something this beautiful (and delicious), so can you!

While you could make this chocolate ice cream cake with store bought ice cream, I chose to make my own. “What?!? How dare you come here, share an elaborate 3 layer cake and still expect me to make my own ice cream? Are you out of your freakin’ mind?“ Before you start running for the hills, let me introduce you to an ice cream mix. No ice cream maker needed and fully customizable! All you need is a bowl and a hand (or stand mixer).

 

Once your Chocolate Ice Cream Cake is set, all that is left to do is cover with chocolate whipped cream and serve. If you’re feeling fancy, you can also go the extra mile and top it with chocolate ganache and chocolate curls/shavings for an extra WOW factor. The ganache will fall along the sides of the cake, in a delicious chocolate hug that will tempt even the strictest dieter. You can serve immediately or pop in the freezer for a little longer for it to solidify. One thing I guarantee: once this chocolate ice cream cake enters the room, nothing else will matter. Your guests will be attracted to the dessert table, like magnets pulled by chocolate magic! ❤️

For this recipe, I recommend:

 

 

Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 96Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 37Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 72Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 77Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 82Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 93Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 27Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 81Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 32Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 76Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 15Chocolate Ice Cream Cake - 91