Spooky Halloween Cupcakes

I can’t believe this is my first Halloween recipe this year! I’ve been so crazy busy with everything that I barely had time to think of Halloween. But do not worry, I finally caught up with everything, decorated my apartment and made some delicious Halloween cupcakes to celebrate October 31st.   These Ghost Halloween Cupcakes are not only spooky, but they are so moist and chocolate-y that they will be the highlight of your Halloween celebrations! Seriously, aren’t they CUTE? I gotta confess. I am one of those lame people that prefer “cute” over “spooky” for Halloween. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I’m okay with witches, vampires, ghosts… But you probably won’t see me eating the incredibly realistic brain cupcakes or wearing anything with a skull in it.  Skulls and skeletons FREAK THE HELL OUT OF ME! How weird is that? Everything related to bones, actually. It took me months of going to the chiropractor to even let him adjust my back. That cracking sound/feeling though?  

I’m sure you’re wondering what these cupcakes are made of. And I made you read through my “Confessions of a Weirdo” to find out. ? What a terrible cyber friend I am, I know…

These adorable Ghost Halloweens Cupcakes are nothing more than a luscious, super moist (hint: sour cream!) chocolate cake with a marshmallow buttercream frosting. Simply to die for! Lip-smacking marshmallow frosting all over my hair (WHAT?!?) kinda good. Please tell me you also get frosting and crumbs all over your body when you eat a cupcake? No? It’s just me then? 

The best thing about these cupcakes is the marshmallow frosting. And I use marshmallow fluff to make life easier! (I’m a huge believer in making life easier, if you haven’t noticed!) However, I have a certain addiction to that stuff – marshmallow fluff, I mean – and am known for eating the stuff by the spoonful. To the point that my husband had to hide the container from me last time we had it in the house. Yep, it’s that bad!  This time, when I sent him to the store for the ingredients and he saw “marshmallow fluff” written on the list, I had to swear I really needed it and marshmallow was the only possible way these cupcakes could even exist in the first place, and that I really, really needed a Halloween recipe on the blog, pretty please, I swear I won’t eat the whole thing in one sitting. I know what you’re thinking. I can be a little dramatic… You would too, if your husband were a marshmallow tyrant. But yours probably isn’t. And you’re all cleared for eating as much marshmallow as you want. So MAKE THIS!  Make it for your Halloween party, for trick or treaters or just bring some to work so you can be everyone’s new favorite person!  And if you’re worried your kids will be too spooked by these, just tell them I got their backs and if any ghost misbehaves, this is what happens to them:

Don’t fret! That picture was from one of my test batches. One that, obviously, went very wrong. That won’t happen to your cupcakes! If you follow my recipe, of course!  For the ghost’s eyes, I bought some edible (hilarious) eye candies at Michaels, but you can use mini chocolate chips if you’d prefer.  You can also make a little “boooooo” mouth on some of them with the mini choc chips. 

Just look at that chocolate cake! So light and moist it will be as if you’re biting into a pillow.  I suppose that’s the feeling you would get if you bit a ghost. Right? But then again, what do I know? I’ve never even seen a ghost! Have you?  P.S. Wanna keep in touch? Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or Pinterest to stay up to date with my posts! If you end up making one of my recipes, I would love to see it! Just take a photo and post it on your preferred Social Media and tag me or use the hashtag #oliviascuisine! 

 

Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 66Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 37Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 98Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 16Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 62Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 18Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 20Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 82Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 65Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 96Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 65Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 92Ghost Halloween Cupcakes - 91