I make a KILLER risotto. Seriously… It’s so good that there’s never any leftovers. 

I wasn’t always as good at making risotto. It took me a few crash and burn attempts, but eventually, with practice, I think I mastered the Art of Cooking the Perfect Risotto. My secret? TLC! Don’t leave the stove. Stay with your risotto from beginning to end. You want to make sure you cook it with love until it’s al dente.

I also like to stop cooking while it still has some liquid, so when I add the cheese it has a nice wave to it. Otherwise I find it gets mushy and it dries out quite a bit even before I serve it. 

The Dolce Gorgonzola is my favorite cheese for this risotto. It is “milder”, softer and sweeter than the other varieties (Natuale or Piccante) and it’s so creamy that you could use it as a spreadable cheese. It melts perfectly in the risotto and its moisture keeps it from drying out. I sometimes add some Parmigiano Reggiano to give it another dimension, but it’s absolutely not necessary. I also like to serve with Parmigiano on the side, as my italians relatives always did, letting people customize their meals. I think this is a great side dish for a romantic Valentine’s Day dinner and it would go perfectly with my recipe for Filet Mignon with Mushrooms and Madeira Sauce. Expensive restaurant meal for 1/3 of the price and easy recipes that are done in less than 30 minutes? Sign me up! :)  

Gorgonzola Risotto - 3Gorgonzola Risotto - 72Gorgonzola Risotto - 18Gorgonzola Risotto - 50Gorgonzola Risotto - 25