Are you a chili lover? Make sure to also check out my Double Chocolate Chili, my Pumpkin Chili and my Sweet Potato Chili. 

Healthy chili recipe

Truth be told, this turkey chili was not purposely designed to be healthy. I tend to prefer my food indulgent and to associate healthy food with boring food. You can definitely notice my preferences by looking at my hips! Oops. I was just making my favorite chili when I realized it was pretty light and low fat. I mean… I do prefer white turkey meat, so that right there is one of the main reasons! Am I shamelessly taking advantage of the healthiness of this dish to attract more readers? Yes, ma’am. Is this post very off brand for this blog? Perhaps a bit. I do go low carb sometimes, but very rarely low fat. But the most important question is: do I believe you should immediately go to the kitchen and make this turkey chili? 100% yes. Healthy or not, it tastes like pure comfort and it’s always a crowd-pleaser! I hope your family loves it as much as mine does!

Ingredients for Turkey Chili Recipe

Here’s what you’ll need to make this recipe.

Fresh ingredients:

Ground Turkey – you can use white or dark meat. Bell Peppers Sweet Onion Garlic

Canned ingredients:

Black Beans Pinto Beans Crushed Tomatoes Petite Diced Tomatoes Chicken Broth

Pantry staples:

Chili Powder Garlic Powder Brown Sugar – to balance the heat. Dried Basil Dried Oregano Extra Virgin Olive Oil Salt Hot Sauce Cayenne (optional)

How to make the best turkey chili!

While this is not a difficult recipe, it does require some planning, as it will simmer low and slow for at least 45 minutes. I like to simmer mine for an hour, so it gets thick and rich, just how my family likes it! Since the chili will be cooked uncovered, keep an eye on it, stirring every now and then, to prevent it from burning. You can also add more broth as needed and cover it if the liquid is evaporating too fast.  I like cooking my chili in my Dutch oven. Dutch ovens are great for slow-cooking, as their thick walls are designed for braising recipes, like chili. This is how I make turkey chili:

Can I make turkey chili in the slow cooker?

Absolutely! Here are the steps to make it in the slow cooker:

How to serve Turkey Chili

To me, there can be no chili without some delicious toppings! Shredded cheese, sour cream, scallions, chopped cilantro (or parsley) and lime are just a few of the many options to boost the flavor of your bowl of turkey chili. As for serving suggestions, over rice or with corn tortilla chips are our favorite ways to eat it. But I’ve seen people eat chili over noodles (Cincinnati style), in a bread bowl, on a sloppy Joe or hot dog, on a biscuit and even in a bag of Fritos!

More Comfort Food recipes that will keep you warm:

Classic Beef Stew Instant Pot Pot Roast Short Rib Stew with Yuca Creamed Spinach Soup Caldo Verde Soup Chicken Thighs with Creamed Corn

At Olivia’s Cuisine, we are always aiming to improve. This post was updated from a previous version. The recipe is the same, but the photos are not! Here are some of the older photos:

   							Dutch Oven						   

 

The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 86The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 20The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 69The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 7The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 54The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 62The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 65The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 45The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 2The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 99The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 87The Best Turkey Chili Ever  Seriously  - 98